

Clean Cities Stakeholder Meeting Notes

February 19, 2024 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. Zoom Meeting

Meeting Attendees

| NAME | AFFILIATION | NAME | AFFILIATION |
|-------------------|--------------------------|---------------------|----------------------|
| Breanne Preisen | DE Clean Cities Director | Mike Petito | Sharp Energy |
| Susan Love | DNREC CCE | Dick Johnson | BorgWarner |
| Sabrina Shultz | DNREC CCE | Dave Detrick | Chesapeake Utilities |
| Jim Coverdale | DNREC DAQ | Matt de la Houssaye | Bio Energy Devco |
| Suzanne Sebastian | DE SEU | Joe Myers | SeaWatch |
| Stephanie Johnson | DelDOT | Finn Roden | Autoport |
| Trish Arndt | DelDOT | Kathleen Grier | Delaware Commute |
| | | | Solutions |
| Charles Thomas | DelDOT | | |
| Dan Bent | Office of Management | Peggy Schultz | League of Women |
| | and Budget | | Voters |

Final Strategic Plan Overview

Short-Term Goals (1-2 years)

Goal 1: Establish a steering committee to help guide DE CCC activities and implementation of the strategic plan

Goal 2: Ensure the DE CCC continues to be fuel neutral and provides programming and outreach on all alternative fuels

Goal 3: Increase organization capacity to support coalition activities and events

Goal 4: Build new relationships with non-coalition member fleets and alternative fuel dealerships

Long Term Goals (2-5 years)

Goal 5: Continuing to build relationships with non-coalition member fleets and alternative fuel dealerships

Goal 6: Promote market development via communications, workshops, events and technical assistance

Other Goals and Changes:

- Keeping the website updated
- Quarterly newsletter release
- Re-visiting use of social media
- Hosting informational sessions across all alternative fuel types
- Increasing information sharing between CC director, other coalitions, and our stakeholders

2024 Coalition Activities - Items in the Works

- Quarterly stakeholder meetings
- New Google drive to share resources, DOE documents, report templates, funding opportunities, presentations, etc.
 https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1Md0VsEsbUeDq0qtPybuxjtfemgsuj4Ru?usp=sharing
- Annual Report
 - o Breanne will solicit information from stakeholders beginning March 1, 2024.
 - Outreach activities, VMTs, fuel economy improvements, AFVs, off-road vehicles
 - Moving forward, the reporting process will be completed on a quarterly basis.
- Redesignation Process
 - Occurs every four years and is scheduled for March 22, 2024
 - DOE will schedule interviews with stakeholders

Establishing Steering Committee Update

- The steering committee will be between 4-6 people
- Minimal time commitment
- Will serve as an advisory committee rather than an authoritative committee

Responsibility:

- Working to create an annual work plan for the Clean Cities director
- Identifying federal funding opportunities
- Working on multi-year strategic plan

Process for Nominations and Elections:

Delaware Clean Cities Coalition members can nominate themselves for the Steering Committee by submitting a written notice to the Clean Cities Director. The notice should include:

- Name
- Organization Represented
- Type of Organization (business, government, non-profit)
- Fuel Type/Transportation Type represented
- Years individual has been engaged with Delaware Clean Cities Coalition

Send your nomination to Breanne.Preisen@delaware.gov by March 1, 2024 to be considered.

2024 Coalition Activities – Items to discuss and plan for (Discussion)

- DOE now requires a minimum of two (2) Events/Workshops/Trainings per year
 - o Training needs?
 - o Public/Targeted Audience Event?
 - Ride and Drive event targeted to state agencies/employees
 - o Education/Information workshops?
 - Clean Cities collaboration with Maryland and PA coalitions
 - o Equity/EJ considerations?
- Engage with new fleets convert them
 - o Current Conversations?
 - o Potential fleets?
- Update the strategic plan
 - Subsequent plans will be more robust and have more specific targets

Coalition Updates/Round Table/Adjourn

- The Clean Cities Coalition will now be known as Clean Cities and Communities
 - DOE will be changing the logo and branding to reflect this change

Susan Love (DNREC): Working on EPA CPRG grant, grant applications for NEVI program have been accepted and DelDOT is in the process of negotiating and awarding funds

Suzanne Sebastian (SEU): Investigating the possibility of launching an EV education website and placing residential chargers on the SEU's online marketplace. SEU is also revisiting the structure of the first responders electric vehicle program in its next funding round.

Mike Petito (Sharp Energy): Surpassed 6 million gallon mark for auto gas in 2023.

Dave Detrick (Chesapeake Utilities): Potentially adding electric vehicle charging infrastructure to Energy Lane. Staying engaged with development around Mid-Atlantic hydrogen hub.

Jim Coverdale (DNREC): DNREC passed Advanced Clean Cars II in December 2023. ACCII requires vehicle manufacturers to deliver an increasing amount of vehicles for sale as ZEVs. Will expire in 2032 with 80% of new vehicles being sold as zero emission.

Dick Johnson (BorgWarner): The first waste management electric trucks have been delivered to Delaware to Evergreen Waste Services. Evergreen received 5 waste haulers and 3 chargers.

Joe Myers (SeaWatch): Traditionally have been focused on fisheries sustainability though more full-scope discussions on sustainability may lead to change in transportation emissions reductions.

Finn Roden (Autoport): Will be retrofitting Ford Mach-E electric vehicles with Dr. Kempton of the University of Delaware for bi-directional charging. Utilizing the van air epic system that can charge EVs without a generator. This technology has been put in a number of AAA vehicles.

Kathleen Grier (Delaware Commute Solutions): The Delaware Commute Solutions app shows bus routes, charging stations, park and rides, along with personal emissions reductions.

Daniel Bent (OMB): OMB will be adding more plug-in hybrid vehicles to the fleet and exploring the use of the van air epic system for charging broken down fleet vehicles.

DelDOT: The Division of Transportation Resilience and Sustainability now composed of Stephanie Johnson and Trish Arndt